RootsWeb.com Mailing Lists
Total: 1/1
    1. ADMIN. POST - RootsWeb's Mail Servers to be Off-Line
    2. P. S. Wyant
    3. Folks, RootsWeb's mail servers are being located overnight, Wed to Thu this week, so most of RootsWeb's services, including the HelpDesk, will be down/stopped/off-line during the relocation. RootsWeb's Message Boards <http://boards.ancestry.com/mbexec/script/main/rw> and World Connect <http://worldconnect.rootsweb.com/> will be available as they have already been relocated. E-mail bound for RootsWeb should be held by your ISP automatically until the servers are back on-line and ready to receive e-mail again. If an e-mail does bounce back to you, please hold off re-sending it for a period of six hours. The time scheduled for the servers to be off is Thu, 19 Jan, from midnight until 6 a.m. in Utah (MST). This translates to the starting time in the USA & Canada of Thu, 2 a.m. (EST), 1 a.m. (CST), Wed, 11 p.m. (PST), etc. In the U.K., it's 7 a.m. (GMT); in NZ, 8 p.m. ; in Aus, 6 p.m. (AEDT), all on Thu. There is an associated issue ... As part of the server relocation, there is a "high possibility" that some/all of the servers will be getting new IP addresses. The potential problem is that if particular ISPs have whitelisted current RootsWeb IP addresses, the new addresses might very well be blacklisted unless/until RootsWeb can contact the relevant ISPs to allow mail through unimpeded. RootsWeb and I will be watching for this eventuality on this list ... some patience on your part might be required! Thanks ... any comments to me off-list, please ... Peter List Admin.

    01/18/2006 12:50:59